Rodman, Hernould top in 10th Annual Harold Blissett Memorial Classic


Courtesy of
The Jamaican Observer
March 13, 2013

Marloe Rodman took home the Harold Blissett Trophy for winning the 20-lap main event, while Bianca Hernould, of Cutters Cycling Club, came out on top in the five-lap female category at Sunday’s 10th staging of the annual Harold J Blissett Memorial Classic at the National Heroes Circle.Owen Cardoza of Cornwall Cycling Club led all junior competitors over 10 laps, winning ahead of second-placed Jemar Brissett and third-placed Andre Jackson.Other events competed at the Memorial Classic were Masters, Super Masters and BMX two-lap races.

The day saw approximately 108 cyclists from St James, Portland, St Catherine, Clarendon, St Thomas, Manchester and the Corporate Area, take part in eight events.Blissett Cycling Club member and organiser of the yearly Classic Winston Brown said his club continues to support the Blissett legacy by staging the race day.”It is evident that this event continues to grow bigger and better each year.

We have more and more people coming out to watch and participate, and for the first time in the history of the event, this year’s meet featured an all female race,” Brown said. President of the Jamaica Cycling Federation

Edward Harper emphasised the need for sustained support among members of the cycling community, and he said the Harold J Blissett Memorial Classic showcases the potential of the sport in Jamaica.”Jamaicans in sport are now known across the world for speed. Imagine a Usain Bolt or Shelly-Ann Fraser (Pryce) on wheels.”Events like the Blissett Memorial serve as an opportunity for cyclists to channel their energy and talent, as well as to develop their skill in a competitive environment,” Harper said.

Blissett was one of Jamaica’s top-rated pro cyclists during the ‘Town Moor’ era, now known as Heroes Circle — Jamaica’s cycling mecca in the 1940s to late 1960s.Blissett, who was born on February 9, 1926, died on March 14, 2003.

He was the founder of the Blissett Cycling Club, then known as ‘The Blissett Wheelers’.

Harold J Blissett Memorial Classic Results. All Comers (BMX/Mtn Bike) (2 Laps)1st — Orain Baker2nd — Lennox Jackson3rd — Kevin SpencerRecreational (Cat 5) (6 Laps)1st — Oniel Johnson2nd — Mark Edwards3rd — Jason Ferguson (Blissett Cycling Club)Juniors (10 Laps)1st — Owen Cardoza (Cornwall Cycling Club)2nd — Jemar Brissett (BreakAway Cycling Club)3rd — Andre Jackson (Portland Cycling Club)Masters 40+ (10 Laps)1st — Martin Dennis (Cornwall Cycling Club)2nd — Cleveland Sharpe (Fresh Vibes Racing)3rd — Gary SmithMasters 50+ (6 Laps)1st — Garnet Young (Endurance Cycling Club)2nd — Winston Virgo (BreakAway Cycling Club)3rd — Donald Hall (BreakAway Cycling Club)Female (5 Laps)1st — Bianca Hernould (Cutters Cycling Club)2nd — Judy Chin (Cutters Cycling Club)3rd — Rachel Gooden (Blissett Cycling Club)Elite (Cat 4) (10 Laps)1st — Hans Heusinkveld (Breakaway Cycling Club2nd — Surge Mcgill3rd — Matthew Parchment (Blissett Cycling Club)Elite (Cat 3) (10 Laps)1st — Oshane Williams (Cornwall Cycling Club)2nd — Gary Ford3rd — Errol CunninghamMain Event (Elite 1&2 plus open to other categories) (20 Laps)1st — Marloe Rodman (Unattached)2nd — Oniel Samuels (Portland Cycling Club)3rd — Shacquille Sinclair (Unattached)4th — Peter Thompson (Blissett Cycling Club)5th — Oshane Williams (Cornwall Cycling Club)

Tagged with: , , ,